Gold Star In Sports, Positive Hockey News

Capitals: Money for amateurs, veterans

WASH., D.C. — The Washington Capitals made news in the past week, not once but twice, with generous donations.  On Sept. 6, Washington Capitals Charities donated $25,000 to the Potomac Valley Amateur Hockey Association (PVAHA) as part of the John Crerar Development Grant, which promotes amateur hockey development in Maryland, Virginia, and Washington, D.C.  The purpose is to continue building the sport of hockey.  Alex Ovechkin and Bauer Hockey also lent a helping hand by donating 108 full sets of our youth hockey equipment to the Kettler Capitals Iceplex and the PVAHA.  Washington Capitals Charities has donated $70,000 to PVAHA to date.

The very next day, the Capitals, along with the NHL, announced their plans for a $10,000 donation to the USA Warriors Ice Hockey Program.  The program is a non-profit organization that serves military personnel wounded while defending the United States.“Washington Capitals Charities is proud to partner with the NHL in supporting the USA Warriors Ice Hockey Program,” said Elizabeth Wodatch, director of community relations for the Washington Capitals. “We admire the courage and dedication of these Warriors and appreciate their service to our country.”

Michael Vaccaro, a member of the USA Warriors Ice Hockey Program, which was founded in 2007, also served as the director for this charity event and had this to say, “On behalf of USA Warrior Hockey and all military veterans we would like to thank the National Hockey League and the Washington Capitals for their generous donation.”

The Good In Sports proudly salutes the Washington Capitals for their help to amateurs, as well as wounded military personnel and presents them with our coveted Gold Star.

We hope you enjoy our positive, uplifting content. We would love for you to follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook!

Copyright © 2011 The Good in Sports, Inc. All rights reserved.

About Sam Sankovich

I am a native of Illinois, but have lived all over. Since high school, I have lived in Texas, Kentucky, Missouri, Florida, Kansas and Ohio. At the moment I am back in Illinois but hope a move back to Florida is in my near future. The first thing people think is I am a Cubs fan and a Bears fan. That’s not true. My dad’s family was born and raised in Pennsylvania (just south of Pittsburgh) and I was raised to be a fan of the Pirates and Steelers. I graduated from Western Kentucky University in 2002 with a BA degree. I majored in Radio and Television Operations and minored in Lodging Management. At this point of my life, I am following my dream of having a career in sports and love working with Joe and the team at The Good in Sports. The mission of the website and vision is second-to-none and allows us to make a difference in the lives of others. That’s important to me. In my spare time I enjoy traveling, I make it to Pittsburgh once a year to watch baseball at “The Best Ballpark in America” (PNC Park). I also enjoy trips to Panama City Beach for relaxation. I have a terrific family who always supports me in my endeavors. You can find me on Twitter, @TGIS_Sam.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,645 other followers