Announcements, Positive Baseball News

Cardinals take Game 1

ST. LOUIS — The St. Louis Cardinals and the Texas Rangers began play in the 107th World Series Wednesday night in a chilly and sometimes rainy Busch Stadium.  The two are doing battle for Major League Baseball’s biggest prize, the Commissioner’s Trophy.  St. Louis got on the board in the bottom of the fourth inning.  Albert Pujols reached base on a pitch that hit him in the foot and Matt Holliday followed with a double to right that allowed a limping Pujols to go to third.  Lance Berkman then singled to right, which scored Pujols and Berkman.  After the Rangers tied it up, the Cardinals scored their third and final run in the bottom of the sixth when Tony LaRussa sent Allen Craig to pinch-hit for starter, Chris Carpenter.  Craig delivered a base hit to right off of Alexi Ogando, scoring David Freese.

In my World Series Preview, I wondered what would happen with Nelson Cruz hitting seventh in a National League Ballpark (no Designated Hitter).  Rangers manager, Ron Washington, answered my question by moving Cruz up to the six hole and moving Catcher, Mike Napoli, down to the seven spot.  Ironically enough, it was Napoli who was responsible for both of the Rangers runs.  Napoli crushed a Carpenter pitch to right field that traveled 415 feet.  It was a two run homer that tied the game at two.

In the ninth, LaRussa called on Jason Motte to close down the Rangers.  On paper it did not seem easy; Motte had to face Michael Young, Adrian Beltre and Nelson Cruz.  For Motte, it did not matter who he faced, he got the Rangers 1-2-3 sealing the victory.

For the Rangers, C.J. Wilson took the loss.  He is now 0-3 this postseason.  Coming into the game, he was only the second pitcher to start game one of the World Series with an 0-2 record in the postseason.  The first was Tom Glavine of the Atlanta Braves in 1992.

World Series Stats of the Day:

  • The last time the Cardinals won game one of the World Series by one run was in 1967.  Bob Gibson got the win for the Cardinals.
  • The Rangers have now gone 12 consecutive postseason games without a starter going past the sixth inning.  That is a postseason record.
  • The Cardinals are now 3-5 all-time in game ones of the World Series when the series has started at home.

Game two is Thursday night in St. Louis.  Colby Lewis will take the mound for the Rangers and he will face-off against Jaime Garcia of the Cardinals.

Game Recap:
Wednesday, Oct. 19, 2011, Busch Stadium – St. Louis, MO.
Texas 2, St. Louis 3
(WP:  Carpenter) (LP:  Wilson) (SV:  Motte)

We hope you enjoy our positive, uplifting content. We would love for you to follow us on Twitter and “like” us on Facebook!

Copyright © 2011 The Good in Sports, Inc. All rights reserved.

About Sam Sankovich

I am a native of Illinois, but have lived all over. Since high school, I have lived in Texas, Kentucky, Missouri, Florida, Kansas and Ohio. At the moment I am back in Illinois but hope a move back to Florida is in my near future. The first thing people think is I am a Cubs fan and a Bears fan. That’s not true. My dad’s family was born and raised in Pennsylvania (just south of Pittsburgh) and I was raised to be a fan of the Pirates and Steelers. I graduated from Western Kentucky University in 2002 with a BA degree. I majored in Radio and Television Operations and minored in Lodging Management. At this point of my life, I am following my dream of having a career in sports and love working with Joe and the team at The Good in Sports. The mission of the website and vision is second-to-none and allows us to make a difference in the lives of others. That’s important to me. In my spare time I enjoy traveling, I make it to Pittsburgh once a year to watch baseball at “The Best Ballpark in America” (PNC Park). I also enjoy trips to Panama City Beach for relaxation. I have a terrific family who always supports me in my endeavors. You can find me on Twitter, @TGIS_Sam.

Discussion

No comments yet.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 10,645 other followers